Abbreviation for European Monetary System. An arrangement established in 1979 to promote currency stability within the then European Economic Community (EEC). One element was the European Exchange Rate Mechanism (ERM) in which most member states linked their currencies together to try to prevent large fluctuations relative to one another. It was superseded by the European Union's single currency, the euro, in 1999.